top of page
  • Mollie Donovan, Staff Writer

Advisory Day


If you have been part of Brandon since the beginning of the school year, you may have participated in a day we call Advisory Day. Just to get you all caught up, Advisory Day is day that is supposed to help kids learn about the options we have in the future. But how do kids feel about this program? Let's see!

I personally am not a big fan of the Advisory Day because it makes me feel trapped and like I have to know exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life. That thought scares me a little, but that’s just me! Other kids have some different opinions. One kid Mark said that he hated it. He hates it because its “extra” and it messes up the schedule.

Another student, Anaya, said that she doesn't know why we do it, and that she would enjoy it more if she knew why we did it. When I interviewed an 8th grader named Jenna said ” It was so bad that I had forgotten all about it.” and when reminded of the day she said,” It was bad. I already knew all of the stuff we ‘learned’ and really, Achieve? All it is good for is sleep."

So, in a summary, kids don’t like Advisory Day or they don’t really know why we need the Advisory Day. They would rather not have to do boring Achieve because kids don’t really like Achieve on it’s own, but when it's about office work, it is extremely boring. I think Jenna said it best “ never again.”


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page