top of page
  • Ally Seibel, Staff Writer

Virtual Learning Day


On October 9th, district wide, we had our first Virtual Learning Day. This was set up because of the days we lost from Hurricane Florence. Instead of having to come in to school for an extra day, we could work at home on assignments that our teachers gave us.

To be honest, for me, there wasn’t a lot to do on Virtual Learning Day. I mean sure I had stuff to do, but given the time period for us to get it done, it wasn’t too big of a deal. I didn’t do ALL of my work on the day they were posted, but I got it done before it was due. I hope most Virtual Learning Days (VLDs) aren’t too bad in workload. Because if we have a lot of work to do on VLDs, I know at least I’ll be stressed out of my mind.

From my experience, I learn better on paper and pencil, especially if we have a lot of work to do. Sure it stresses my hand out, but I retain it better than I would if that lesson was online. At least on VLDs we have some leeway with workload, because if we missed some days and we have to make it up we can just have lessons posted online! We don’t have to get up early to go to school which is better than just taking away holidays. VLDs are a good way to make up work, but we shouldn’t overload students on those days. Thankfully, that hasn’t happened yet.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Advisory Day

If you have been part of Brandon since the beginning of the school year, you may have participated in a day we call Advisory Day. Just to get you all caught up, Advisory Day is day that is supposed to

bottom of page