top of page
  • Mollie Donovan, Staff Writer

8th graders Tackle the PSAT


On October 17th, the 8th graders at Brandon Middle took the PSAT’s. The PSAT is a Pre Pre SAT test that students take in 8th and 9th grade. In 10th grade, students take the actual Pre SAT, and in 11th and 12th grade they take the SAT. As an eighth grader, I took the PSAT (or the PPSAT if you will), and I am going to tell you my I had with the PSAT.

First, let’s go over the general rules of the test. Students have an answer booklet and a question booklet. You can use the question booklet for scratch paper because it just has the questions and passages in it. The answer booklet is much more serious. In order to correctly put in your answer on the sheet, you have to fill the bubble in completely and darkly. As in, you shade the bubble in really well. It also has to be done in number 2 pencil. It is divided into four parts, English part one and 2 and Math calculator and non-calculator. So, this test is not done in two days; it’s all in one day. Each section is timed, so you can’t take all the time you need.

Tips/Advice

First off, don’t stress this test. When you are in 8th grade and 9th grade, this test does not count in the grade book. So, if you fail, don’t worry. You can’t study for this test. If you don’t know the answer to the question, that's ok! Just fill on the bubbles. Wrong answers and unanswered questions don’t count against your score.

My experience

Personally, I am just a bad test taker. I stress a lot about test. So when I heard that the test was timed, I panicked. Even though I had no reason to, that's just me. Overall, the test was ok no biggie, but do take this test seriously. It is meant to help you.


14 views0 comments
bottom of page